Slide Baiting on a budget

First up, if anyone on here uses the slide baiting technique, I'd love to see or know what setups you use and what sort of success you've had. I am a complete newbie to this technique after watching a lot of South African beach and rock fishing on youtube and it really appeals to me for whatever reason!

After a recent change in employment, I had to unload a bunch of my fishing gear, and together with a somewhat lessened money flow, I have had to re assess how I'm going to approach catching certain species for a little while.

Basically the only heavy gear I have left is a big surf setup, and I have decided I would like to give slide baiting ago.

Being on a tight budget, but having free access to certain materials (namely stainless steel wire), I figured I'd have a crack at making the majority of the required terminal gear myself.

From watching plenty of videos, and doing a bit of research on the topic, the technique seems to require three main bits of terminal gear:

-Grapnel/Surf/Breakaway type sinker

-The Bait Slide

-The slide stopper

I had a look at my local tackle stores and didn't come across anything in the way of the Slider/Stopper setup, So I was set on making those myself, and after having a look at the price of surf sinkers, I decided that paying $4-$8 per sinker was not feasible with my current budget. As a result I picked up a packet of 4 Snapper leads (4oz) from KMart for the thrifty price of $5 total, with a view to modifying them into a breakaway type setup myself.

I won't go into too much detail about the process, but the wire is all 1.6mm stainless welding wire, which seems to be a happy medium between strength and flexibilty. I tried 3mm and it was way too heavy and bulky and hard to work with. In the future I'd like to try 2mm wire (I think this will be perfect) as I suspect the 1.6 will prove a little flimsy for the slides.