JOIN A FOOD CHAIN - Habitats and Food

JOIN A FOOD CHAIN

No, No! … Don’t get a job at “Maccas” … but find the Yellow Fin Whiting’s favourite “Maccas” ! Their food chain.

Recently I have been getting consistent results when targeting Large Yellow Fin Whiting.

It was after I studied the YFW diet, by regularly inspecting the gut contents of fish caught in different locations. Developing an understanding of their food preferences, movements, behaviour and the habitat in each location. Subsequently I have been fishing these habitats with the food preferences for that location. Fish in their “Macca’s” !

Large YFW’s Morphology and Diet

Larger YFW are built differently, behave differently and feed differently, to their smaller mates.

The morphology of the bigger YFW enable them to predate on a number of alternative food sources.

Bigger means stronger, faster, and most importantly they have a bigger mouth to swallow their prey.

Prey that is much, much larger than the worms they were weaned on. Not that they will pass up an available worm!

The bigger YFW are aggressive predators. No longer the docile benthic grazer of worms, nippers and cockles, that it was when it was smaller. They can now chase down prey. They can grasp it, rip it, immobilise it, and swallow it whole.

The different sizes/ages of YFW practice what biologist refer to as Resource (food) partitioning.

Which means the big ones don’t steal the young one’s food. They don’t all compete for the same food resources.

Larger YFW move on to aggressively feed on a lot of Crabs, Prawns, and Minnows.

Regularly inspecting and recording their gut contents and the areas they were caught in, provides a great insight into their diets.

And a good indication of the likely habitats in which to find the larger YFW. And more importantly what lures to use where.

There is also a degree of “Habitat partioning” with the YFW.