Looking at getting a new surf rod.

G'day guys. I'm reasonably new to the whole fishing thing, well not new but I am just getting into it seriously any way and getting myself set up etc etc. Anyway I am looking for a new surf rod, nothing to fancy and definitely nothing to pricey. Big W has a nice range of Shimano snapper combo's one in particular is the Escape with ET 7'6" snapper combo rod teamed up with an alivio 6000FA reel. I already have a 7 ft spin combo that is the same brand and thats a nice little combo which makes me think I'd like to stick with this brand for the time being and upgrade a bit down the track. I'd be thinking of taking this out to west beach for whiting and things like that. (basically it just needs to be an all round rod which I can take to places from salt creek to west beach and jetties if I choose to go for bigger fish or shark.I'd like to get some feed back and your thoughts on this guys it would be much appreciated.

i run a penn 8' rod for that middle of the range stuff..been prety good so far no dramas. as i said.. i have 3 combos 2 jarvis walkers 2 dif line classes and actions and a 1 shimano set up. your moe than welcome to head down the beach one day and have a few casts and see what you like.

hey TYGet yourself a cheap surf rod from like some store to begin with, at like $40 a rod and reel combo they go alright! then just upgrade the reel later down the track.i think I have like 4-5 surf rods here haha. if you head out give del or myself a buzz, we both have spares for you to try out :)

Ok guys while I am here. I did mention a fishing store that was not sponsoring this site. Not thinking about it I regretfully mentioned this store and a couple of other links without quite thinking of the sponsor rules. It is to my understanding that this has been taken down and that is fine.Lesson learned.Thanks guys I shall remember to screen my posts from now on B)

tythataussieguy wrote: