Snapper Rod & Overhead reel combo

Hey allI want to get into jetty based snapper fishing Smiley I'm pretty new to all of this and need some advice as to what rod and reel to buy? i want to try an overhead reel and reckon i will spool it with mono till i get the hang of it. I was thinking the Shimano TLD 15 or 20 but after abit of reading i am getting the impression that this could be abit of an over kill? Also i know nothing about rods what is a good size for snapper off a jetty? any help would be appreciated thanks in advance =)

anestimav wrote:

Buy something you can cast easy...Abu 7000 or bigger ,Shimano tekotas...something along those lines.

I would highly recommend the Shimano Tekota 700 with levelwind.Being new to overheads the levelwind will be crucial for you.AFF is right in that a TLD of some sort is overkill. If you did want to get serious about your land based jetty snapper fishing and wanted to stop the big boys, it would just be a matter of loading your Tekota with 50lb braid.Now before anyone says, who needs 50lb braid to stop reds. When fishing off Walleroo, Kleins or Pt Giles it can be essential to run 50lb braid to stop big reds from going under the jetty...Many big fish can be lost on the standard 20 or 30lb, so the upgrade is crucial, but the Tekota will handle it no problem.Anyway...good luck with your jetty snapper...Brett :laugh: